Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
Print Header

Meet the LGB

New Donner Building

The Local Governing Body (LGB) supports the Principal in monitoring policies and operations such as admissions, behaviour and discipline; the academy budget; the curriculum and its delivery;maintaining the quality of of the education delivered by the academy and ensuring the academy's links with the wider community.  The LGB has special responsibility to monitor academic progress as it is reviewed year by year.

The LGB consists of a minimum of 5 and a maximum of 15 members:

The current membership of the LGB is as follows:

WHGS Local

Governing Body March 2014 
Name Responsibility Date Term of Office began   Term of Office
Mr J D Marsden  Chairman of Governors  - Finance Committee September 2007 United Learning Appointment 
Mrs J Andrews  Governor- Behaviour Committee- Safeguarding September 2012 3 years
Ms S Bagguley  Governor- April 2011 3 years
Mrs L Harding  Governor November 2013 3 years
Mrs V M Lees Support Staff Governor- Admissions Committee October 2012  3 years
Mr P Mulholland  Principal (ex officio) September 2008  
Mr A Naeem  Governor- Attendance October 2012 3 years
Mr K A G Platts  Governor- Behaviour Committee- Admissions Committee- Child Protection, CLA September 2013 3 years
Mrs B M Schouten Vice Principal & Head of Primary Phase (ex officio)- Admissions Committee  September 2009  
Mr E Thorp Vice-Chairman of Governors- Behaviour Committee (Chair)- Finance Committee September 2013 3 years
Mr H N Veevers  Teaching Staff Governor October 2011 3 years


Parent Governor (Primary Phase) To be appointed April/May 2014 


Parent Governor (Secondary Phase) To be appointed April/May 2014
Mrs J M Carter  LGB Secretary/Clerk September 2007  

WHGS Local

Governing Body 




Finance Behaviour
Mr J D Marsden Mrs J Andrews
Mr E Thorp Mr K A G Platts
Mr P Mulholland Mr E Thorp
Miss E V Fritchley (WHGS Bursar) Mr P Mulholland
Admissions Curriculum
Mr K A G Platts Mrs J Andrews
Mrs V M Lees Mr P Mulholland
Mr P Mulholland  
Mrs B M Schouten