Accessibility Page Navigation
Style sheets must be enabled to view this page as it was intended.
Print Header

House system

The House system is one of the most traditional aspects of William Hulme's Grammar School.  Every new pupil is allocated to a House on their arrival at school.  Siblings are always in the same House, even though they may be years apart in age group.  Pupils value their membership of a House and are proud to compete for their House, both on the sports field and in the academic world.  The loud cheer which goes up when the winner is announced of the hotly contested House Challenge at the end of the year is testimony to the great spirit of friendly competition between the four Houses.

The original House system had operated for more than 100 years until recent changes were made. The original houses were Whitworth, Gaskell, Byrom, Fraser, Heywood and Dalton. These have now been replaced by Hulme, Jones, Bonnick and Roberts, all named after benefactors of the School.

The House Masters are all senior staff. Heads of House and House Prefects are elected annually.  Housemaster of Roberts House is Mr L Sharp;  Housemaster of Jones House is  Mr M Kathrada; Housemaster of Hulme House is Mr A Harrison;  Housemasters of Bonnick House are Mr A Rodgers and Mr H N Veevers.